Accessibility Information skip navigation

Public Works

The St. Petersburg Public Works Department touches the lives of our residents in countless ways every day.  We support all city functions and serve the citizens through Engineering, Water Resources, Fleet Management, and Stormwater, Pavement and Traffic Operations.

Our staff works round the clock to support the city, and we always answer at (727) 893-7261.

Water Resources
Water Resources is the largest of St. Petersburg's Public Works departments, providing potable water distribution, wastewater collection, treatment and disposal, and reclaimed water for irrigation purposes to city residents. This department also oversees the water quality testing and environmental laboratory operations for the city
John Palenchar – Interim Director
John.Palenchar@stpete.org
(727) 892-5698

Stormwater, Pavement and Traffic Operations
This department maintains the city's drainage, sidewalks, roadways and traffic signal systems. The department also performs regular street sweeping, maintains pavement markings and roadway landscape services as well as roadway signage.
John Norris – Director
John.Norris@stpete.org
(727) 893-7260

Fleet Management
Keeping the city rolling is the mission of this department. From Police, Fire, and Rescue vehicles to portable bleachers and a mobile outdoor stage, a team of 30 mechanics work non-stop to keep the fleet on the road. 24/7 Emergency work and towing is just part of the effort.
Joe Krizen – Director
Joe.Krizen@stpete.org
(727) 893-7255

Engineering & Capital Improvements
Members of this department plan, design and manage construction projects for city roads, infrastructure, and facilities. Engineers also oversee major maintenance programs for roads, bridges and sidewalks. Permitting for development within city rights of way comes under this department as does the school crossing guard program.
Brejesh Prayman, P.E., ENV SP – Director
Brejesh.Prayman@stpete.org
(727) 892-5383

Public Works Administration

The Administrator of Public Works is in charge of overseeing all of the above listed departments as well as maintaining open lines of communication between the City Council, Mayor’s Office and citizens. The goal of this office is to put the “public” in Public Works.
Claude Tankersley, P.E. – Administrator
Claude.Tankersley@stpete.org
(727) 893-7294
Bill Logan – Communications Manager
Bill.Logan@stpete.org
(727) 893-7250
Elizabeth Makofske – Business Services Manager
Elizabeth.Makofske@stpete.org
(727) 893-7297
Petya Gestova – Operations Analyst Specialist
Petya.Gestova@stpete.org
(727) 893-7841
Follow us on Twitter @StPetePW


   

Print page Text resize: Increase font size Decrease font size Original font size Updated:

City of St. Petersburg
P.O. Box 2842
St. Petersburg, FL 33731

  • p: 727-893-7111
  • f: 727-892-5102
  • tty: 727-892-5259
Copyright City of St. Petersburg St. Pete TV - Off The Air