Why did I receive a Notice of Violation?
Based upon images captured by the automated system, your vehicle was determined to have committed a red-light violation, in violation of Florida Statute 316.0083, 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(c)1. As the vehicle owner, the Notice of Violation is mailed to you.
How much is the fine?
The civil penalty for this traffic infraction is $158 if the violator pays within 60 days of the postmark date of the Notice of Violation. No points are assessed against your driving record as a result of this infraction.
How much time do I have to pay my Notice of Violation?
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the Due Date located at the top right corner of your Notice of Violation.
What are my options?
1. Pay The Fine on or before the Due Date specified at the top right corner of your Notice of Violation.
- Pay Online. Logon to www.ViolationInfo.com by entering your Notice number and PIN number shown in the red box on the front right of your Notice. Click the Pay button. There is a convenience fee of up to 5% on the total fine amount that will be assessed at the time of payment.
- Pay by Mail. Mail your check or money order, payable to Automated Traffic Control Violation System, in the enclosed envelope along with the coupon printed at the bottom of the notice. Write the Notice number and the license plate number on your check or money order. Do not mail cash. The mailing address is:
City of St. Petersburg
Intersection Safety Program
P.O. Box 15578
St. Petersburg, FL 33733
- Pay by Credit Card. Call toll free 1-866-790-4111 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday. There is a convenience fee of up to 5% of the total fine amount that will be assessed at the time of payment.
2. Submission of Affidavit of Non-Responsibility.
You may download an Affidavit at www.ViolationInfo.com. As the registered owner of the vehicle, you are deemed responsible for the violation and the payment of a $158.00 penalty unless, in compliance with Florida Statute § 316.0083(1)(d)1.a-d, you establish by a sworn affidavit that a statutory exemption applies.
The exemptions are that the motor vehicle:
- Passed through the intersection in order to yield the right-of-way to an emergency vehicle or as part of a funeral procession;
- Passed through the inter -section at the direction of a law enforcement officer;
- Was, at the time of the violation, in the care, custody, or control of another person; or
- A UTC was issued by a law enforcement officer to the driver of the motor vehicle for the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and § 316.075(1)(c)1 stated in this Notice.
The affidavit must be sworn before a notary public or other person authorized to administer oaths. If you assert that the vehicle was in the care, custody, or control of another person, you must provide the name, address, date of birth, and, if known, the driver’s license number of the person who leased, rented, or otherwise had care, custody, or control of the vehicle at the time of the violation. If the vehicle was stolen, then the affidavit must include a copy of a police report showing the vehicle to have been stolen. If you assert that a UTC was issued by a law enforcement officer for the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and § 316.075(1)(c)1 stated in this notice, then you must include the serial number of the UTC. For faster processing, you may, but are not required to, include a copy of the UTC. If your affidavit complies with the requirements of Florida Statute § 316.0083, then no further action will be taken against you.
The submission of a false affidavit is a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable under Florida Statute § 775.082 or § 775.083 by a term of imprisonment not to exceed sixty (60) days and/or a fine not to exceed $500.00.
If submitting an affidavit, it must be received on or before the Due Date specified on the front page of the Notice of Violation in order to be appropriately processed. The affidavit should be mailed to:
City of St. Petersburg
c/o Intersection Safety Program
P.O. Box 22091
Tempe AZ 85285-2091
Do not send payment or Affidavit to the Clerk of the Court.
3. To Contest The Notice of Violation by Requesting a Local Administrative Hearing.
Request a local administrative hearing before a Local Hearing Officer by signing and mailing the form provided with your Notice of Violation. You will be notified by letter of the time and date of the hearing. If you request a hearing and the local hearing officer concludes that no infraction has been committed, this infraction will be dismissed and no costs or penalties shall be imposed. If the local hearing officer concludes that an infraction has been committed, the local hearing officer will uphold the infraction and impose additional administrative fees and costs not to exceed $250.00.
What happens if I do nothing?
If you fail to respond as outlined above by the Due Date, a Uniform Traffic Citation (“UTC”) will be issued to you. Upon issuance of a UTC, you shall have the remedies specified in Florida Statutes Sections 316.0083 and 318.14, which include (a) the right to pay the civil penalty in the amount of $264.00; (b) the right to submit an affidavit; or (c) the right to have a hearing before a designated Pinellas County Traffic Court Judge or Magistrate, who shall determine whether an infraction has been committed. If the Judge or Magistrate concludes that no infraction has been committed, the UTC will be dismissed and no costs or penalties shall be imposed. If the Judge or Magistrate concludes an infraction has been committed, the Judge or Magistrate will uphold the UTC and may impose an additional civil penalty not to exceed $500 and court fees and costs. Failure to pay, submit an affidavit, or request a hearing on the UTC could result in your driving privileges being suspended.
VIEW YOUR IMAGES AND VIDEO EVIDENCE OBTAINED FOR THIS CASE:
The recorded images and video of your violation will be submitted as evidence for the disposition of this violation. You may view your images and video online at www.ViolationInfo.com . You will need your Notice # and PIN printed on the front of your Notice of Violation inside the red box. If you do not have internet access, you may view your video and images at any public library. You must be the registered owner of the vehicle to discuss this violation with Customer Service.
If you have any questions, visit our FAQ page or contact Customer Service toll free at:
1-866-225-8875 or 727-893-7700.
Si necesitas ayuda en Espanol, favor de llamar al 1-866-255-8875.