Redistricting Commission

Print this page

Redistricting Commission

The City Charter requires a City Council redistricting process to occur every ten years in conjunction with the U.S. Decennial Census.

The Redistricting Commission consists of nine citizens, with one Commissioner appointed by the Mayor and one Commissioner appointed by each of the eight Council Members. The Commission is responsible for creating and recommending new City Council districts that comply with City Charter requirements. The Commission has 60 days to submit a report to City Council that includes a map and description of the recommended districts, an ordinance City Council can adopt to establish the recommended districts, and hold at least one public hearing on the report.

 After the Redistricting Commissions submits its report to City Council, Council has up to 60 days to accept the districts proposed by the Redistricting Commission through a majority vote or reject the districts proposed by the Commission by adopting districts drawn by City Council through a unanimous vote. If City Council does not take either action within 60 days, then the districts proposed by the Commission are adopted and will go into effect.

Once City Council has adopted the new districts, the information is provided to the Supervisor of Elections and voter ID cards are updated to reflect the new City Council districts.


Starting May 17, residents are invited to share their interest in being considered for appointment.

The application period to be considered for appointment by Mayor Ken Welch has now closed. 

To be considered for appointment by City Council, follow the below steps:

  • Step 1: Look up your current City Council district using this map.
    • Type in your address and once it shows the pin, zoom out to identify the district number and boundaries. 
  • Step 2: Express your interest in appointment to the appropriate district contact.
2022 Agendas, Packets & Minutes